About Me header

About Me

About

About Me

CB_KateWhiteley-2
I understand the importance of choosing the right childcare setting and appreciate the trust parents and carers place in me when they leave their children in my care.

Charlie Bear Childminding is run at my home, Startop Farm Bungalow in Marsworth, Tring. We are situated on a working farm in a small rural village community that enjoys close proximity to canals, reservoirs, a large local park which has recently been refurbished within the last 12 months, a thriving preschool and primary school. I have a good sized, secure garden for the children to play in with an abundance of outdoor play equipment as well as dedicated rooms in my home, equipt for the children to play, learn and explore.

I use a bespoke childminding database to record the routines, progress, achievements, incidents and any other note worthy actions of the children in my care. I find this to be an invaluable tool in keeping accurate records and a great way to share with parents and carers what their little ones are doing throughout their time with me.

CB database

I have a wealth of experience gained from having four children of my own (aged 16, 13, 7 and 5) plus two grandchildren. I previously ran my own private nursery in Cyprus and upon returning to the UK started Charlie Bear Childminding along with working at Marsworth Preschool. I’m OFSTED registered, fully insured and a member of PACEY (Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years). I pride myself in keeping thoroughly up-to-date with all safety procedures and qualifications; I offer a fully inclusive setting welcoming all children.

As a proficient childminder I will:

  • provide a caring environment that is safe, happy, stable and secure
  • encourage and help children to be independent and self-motivated
  • encourage children to be individuals and value their interests and choice of expression
  • encourage a positive, praising environment promoting a child’s self-esteem
  • promote and develop social responsibility
  • help children to develop language and communication skills
  • work in close partnership with parents/carers
  • provide a balance of child led and adult led activities
  • help children to develop fine and gross motor skills
  • provide opportunities for active, natural and explorative play

Qualifications

I love to learn! Below is a list of my qualifications however, if your child has specific needs, such as ASD for example, I am more than happy to attend a relevant course to ensure your child receives the absolute best, appropriate care.

  • CACHE Level 3 Diploma for the children and young people’s workforce
  • Level 3 Award in Preparing to work in Home-Based Childcare (HBCA)
  • Safeguarding and Child Protection
  • Pediatric First Aid Certificate
  • Basic food hygiene
  • DBS checked (My husband and oldest son are also DBS checked)
  • Full UK driving License
  • Equality and Diversity
  • Understanding Meningitis
  • Safe Handling of Medicines
  • Infection Control
  • Safe and Effective use of an EpiPen
PACEY LOGOOFSTEDDBS checked